poplarat.blogg.se

Garrard zero 100 sb belt
Garrard zero 100 sb belt













  1. GARRARD ZERO 100 SB BELT PORTABLE
  2. GARRARD ZERO 100 SB BELT FREE

Using the 45 position as a clue I then checked out the operation of the Record size selector and cam but this appeared to be in order. With the Auto lever pressed things began to happen – but unfortunately the Arm moved right past the first track and landed somewhere about where a 45 record might start. Now, it was time to check out the “overhaul”. The electrical signal at this point is very small so any poor contact will have a dramatic reduction in the level of the output audio. Make sure that the sliding surfaces on this and the the Tone arm are electrically clean so that a good contact is made. Pic 3 shows the order of the wires at the cartridge shell connections. However, as another post on the forum states it may be removed if it is causing hum in the background. Yellow wire - This nominally solders to the metal frame of the socket panel. Should this happen to you I have listed the correct positions of these wires below. Then it required a steady hand to resolder them into position. I had not noticed that several of the fine cartridge shell wires had become detached! So a few hours work was required with reference books and an ohm meter to determine the correct position of the broken wires on the connectors.

GARRARD ZERO 100 SB BELT FREE

Thus the panel was free to flop around as I moved the unit during my endeavours to free the above tight pivots. However, I found that I had not taken pictures from enough angles that would have assisted me in later troubleshooting!ĭuring my work, I had detached the panel supporting the L & R audio channel connectors. It was a reasonably easy job using the pictures that I had taken as a record of where things went. So, it was time to reassemble all of the pieces. My main concern was to be reasonably gentle on things and not cause any breakages. At the time, I did not pay a great deal of attention to the depth that I was forcing the #3 pin into position – an oversight that came back to haunt me (see later). I was able to carefully refit the two with an application of Loctite to help retain them in position. Pin #2 is mounted in a plastic base and #3 mounts in a metal diecast mount. I then used a fine grade emery cloth to polish up the pins and ensured that the levers could turn freely on them. I managed to prise both pivot pins out of their respective mountings, and once out I was able to put them in a soft jawed vice and tap them apart with a pin punch. They still would not free up after a week of applying penetrating oil so stronger methods were required. The tight pivots proved more of a problem. While working on this component I ensured that the black plastic lever and the metal trip lever (on the upper side) were also both free to move. The cam gear was easy to free and to re-oil. The levers to the pivot posts at 2 and 3 in the picture were also very tight. I found that I had three main problem areas – shown in Pic. Don't take any short cuts, remove all of the pieces – use a digital camera to record each step as you dismantle, - to use as a reference when refitting them all. So, the first job was to remove any suspect parts and ensure that they moved freely and subject them to some fresh lubrication.įor sliding pieces I use a light Lithium grease and for pivots etc I use an auto transmission oil. It was now time to turn the unit over and investigate the problems.Īs many other posts on the forum state, the main issue with these (and many other) old turntables is that the lubricating grease applied when new turns to an effective glue after years of hibernation. A replacement belt of similar dimension (except that it was 150mm diameter) was obtained and appears to do the job. The belt dimensions are around 0.5mm thick, 4.75 mm wide and should just fit neatly on the 140 diameter drive section under the platter. The first issue was that the belt had deteriorated. I hope that the following notes may be of assistance to others who have one of these 100SBs and are faced with one or more of the same problems. So, it was off to the workbench for some serious work.

GARRARD ZERO 100 SB BELT PORTABLE

Now that the MP3 age is with us I thought that it was time to save my favourite records to this portable format, however when presented with the first record it showed it's age and lack of use.















Garrard zero 100 sb belt